Can models embark and disembark from the Valkyrie, and if so, how?
With the release of the Imperial Guard FAQ on September 3, 2009, this is no longer an issue:
“Q. How do you treat the Valkyrie base for gaming? Due to its height it seems that it is impossible for a Valkyrie to contest an objective, or for troops to disembark/embark normally.
A. Follow the rules in Measuring Distances in the Skimmers section in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook with the following exception: For the purposes of contesting objectives and embarking/disembarking from a Valkyrie or Vendetta, measure to and from the model’s base. For example, models wishing to embark within a Valkyrie can do so if at the end of their movement, all models within the unit are within 2″ of the Valkyrie’s base.” Codex:IG FAQ p.2 (2009)
OUR HOLDING (Upheld as of 9.3.09 by the IG FAQ):
Models can embark and disembark from the Valkyrie, measuring the 2″ distance from the Valkyrie’s base.
Continue reading »