SantaMarineThis week’s episode of Reply Briefs is an interesting holiday-related query that’s along the same lines as a question a lot of players have been asking us recently – what 40k army should I buy for 6th edition? We sort of answered the question in this article on netlisting but that was admittedly nonspecific advice.  Now, I still stand by the answer.  I still believe proxying new units and new armies until you find what works best for you is the best way to pick an army that you can be successful with in 6th edition. But this time we’re going to break it down a little more pragmatically. Some credit for this article goes to Szafraniec, as some of it is based on discussions we’ve had recently on similar issues.

The Question: What 40k army should I buy with my Christmas money to stay competitive in 6th Edition?

The Answer: Grey Knights, Necrons, Imperial Guard, or some combination thereof.

Continue reading »

Imperial_Guard_Vol_1_1GiantKiller here with another episode of Building the Case. This week’s edition is a response to a build request for a Pure IG build at the 1000 points level with “some kind of blob and air support”. I think this will work out well, as IG has an efficient enough codex to pack in both durability and mobility at the 1000 point level and still have some room left over for a few useful toys. After some tweaking and playtesting, this is what I came up with.

Continue reading »

ISSUE:

Can squadrons of vehicles be intermingled to give cover saves to both squadrons?

HOLDING:

Yes, two squadrons of two vehicles each can be intermingled to give cover saves to both squadrons.

Continue reading »

ISSUE:

What happens when some, but not all of the vehicles in a squadron use smoke launchers?

HOLDING:

If at least 50% of the squadron uses smoke launchers, the entire squadron benefits from the 4+ cover save.

Continue reading »

ISSUE:

Can models embark and disembark from the Valkyrie, and if so, how?

UPDATE!

With the release of the Imperial Guard FAQ on September 3, 2009, this is no longer an issue:

“Q. How do you treat the Valkyrie base for gaming? Due to its height it seems that it is impossible for a Valkyrie to contest an objective, or for troops to disembark/embark normally.

A. Follow the rules in Measuring Distances in the Skimmers section in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook with the following exception: For the purposes of contesting objectives and embarking/disembarking from a Valkyrie or Vendetta, measure to and from the model’s base.  For example, models wishing to embark within a Valkyrie can do so if at the end of their movement, all models within the unit are within 2″ of the Valkyrie’s base.”  Codex:IG FAQ p.2 (2009)


OUR HOLDING (Upheld as of 9.3.09 by the IG FAQ):

Models can embark and disembark from the Valkyrie, measuring the 2″ distance from the Valkyrie’s base.

Continue reading »

A quick 1500 point match to try out some new additions to my guard list… namely Straken, a Brother Captain, and some Grey Knights.

Continue reading »

ISSUE:

Can a Daemonhunters army take a Leman Russ Battle Tank as a Heavy Support Choice?

UPDATE!

With the release of the Imperial Guard FAQ on September 3, 2009, this is no longer an issue:

“Q. As the units in Codex: Imperial Guard have changed, can we have a clarification of which units you are allowed to induct into a Witch Hunters and/or Daemonhunters army? …

A. You may include any of the inducted units from Codex: Imperial Guard that are listed in the
‘By the authority of the immortal Emperor of Mankind…’ rule with the exception of Armoured
Fist Squads – these no longer exist as a separate unit entry. … Also note that as the list states you are limited to 0-1 Leman Russ Battle Tank you may not include any other types of Leman Russ such as the Demolisher, Executioner etc.”  Codex:IG FAQ p.2 (2009)


OUR HOLDING (Upheld as of 9.3.09 by the IG FAQ):

Yes, the Daemonhunters army may take up to one Leman Russ Squadron consisting of one Leman Russ Battle Tank.
Continue reading »

ISSUE:

Can an IG Company Command Squad with a Master of Ordnance and a Mortar Heavy Weapons Team make use of the Multiple Barrage Rule to allow the mortar to “spot” for the Master of Ordnance’s Artillery Bombardment?

UPDATE!

With the release of the Imperial Guard FAQ on September 3, 2009, this is no longer an issue:

“Q. If you have a Master of Ordnance and a Heavy Weapons Team with a mortar in the same unit, does the multiple barrage rule take precedence or does the Master of Ordnance’s special scatter rule over-rule this?
A. The Master of Ordnance’s special scatter rule takes precedence and the two fire independently of each other (but both must still fire at the same target). Clearly using the mortar to range find for Basilisks dozens of miles behind the frontlines is silly – that’s what the Master of Ordnance is suppose to be doing.” Codex:IG FAQ p.2 (2009)


OUR HOLDING (Reversed as of 9.3.09 by the IG FAQ):

If the IG player fires the squad’s mortar first, the Master of Ordnance’s Artillery Bombardment will be placed according to the Multiple Barrage Rule, and will not scatter further.

Continue reading »

© 2009-2011 The Rules Lawyers Suffusion theme by Sayontan Sinha